Coffee, Grace, & Sass

The three words to describe me:

  • I run on coffee (don’t even try talking to me before my first cup)
  • I am saved by grace
  • I will serve you up a plate of sass

Every day you will find me with a cup of coffee in my hand, sporting my cross tattoo & talking about Jesus, and telling you “jokes” and “witty” comebacks. (I put jokes and witty in quotes because I tend to be the only one laughing…)

img_2080

My name is Mary Ashcraft and I am currently in law school. Soon I won’t be able to say that sentence! I’m in my final year of law school and will be graduating in May 2017. It has been a long, long, longgggg quest in getting my law degree.

I grew up in Southern California and then flew off to Ohio for undergrad. Why Ohio? Well, that is a question I answered every. single. day. of my undergraduate career. I wanted to explore the country a little bit more and was deciding between Minnesota (where my mom is from) and Ohio (where my dad is from). I chose the lesser of two colds.

58960013

I thoroughly enjoyed my time in Ohio and miss it every day…especially since my best friend is there. Brooke is my twin and my sister. She’s the Christina to my Meredith, the Phoebe to my Monica, the Shawn to my Cory…well you get the idea.

img_8468

Brooke and I at her wedding. We always take pictures with this pose to show off our matching tattoos.

I came back to California to attend law school and be closer to my family. While in Ohio, I realized that being 2,500 miles away from them was a little farther than I liked.

img_1143

L to R: Me, Noah (brother in law), Laura (sister), Jack (brother), Amanda (sister in law)

img_1428

My niece, Layla, and I at Mood Designer Fabrics, where we picked out fabric for our 2016 Comic Con costumes

Now to the reason I’m starting this blog!

Since being in law school I’ve realized that I spend most of my time studying, in class, or at work, and I’ve been neglecting things that are fun. I grew up performing in musicals, cross stitching (I think I was the only teenager who did this…), baking cookies, and writing. I wrote stories all the time but rarely showed them to anyone out of fear that they wouldn’t like it. So today I’m changing that.

I will be starting bar prep (low-key already started) very soon and I need a way to not go insane during this period of time. I also won’t be able to see my family and friends as much because I will be locked away at school with my nose in a book and surrounded by handwritten outlines (Tip: handwriting helps you remember things better!).

Sooooo, this blog will help me schedule activities and updates that will help me get through this time. I will talk about all my favorite things, such as fashion, nail polish, creative hobbies, home decor, and my faith, to name a few topics. I’m also hoping that life updates on here will maybe, juuuust maybe help my parents call me a little less, although I doubt it. (Kidding, Mom!)

This is a very stressful time in my life but it will also be one of the most rewarding times, so I hope you enjoy following along!

Peace & Blessings,

Mary

You can also follow me on Instagram, Twitter, and Pinterest!

One thought on “Coffee, Grace, & Sass

Leave a Reply

