Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Growing up, I thought my favorite cookie was the classic chocolate chip cookie.
Boy, was I wrong!

When I went to college in Dayton, Ohio, I was introduced to a wonderful placed called Potbelly. Not only did they make a great sandwich, but they also made delicious oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. They were made fresh every day and I always snagged one at the register when checking out.

Potbelly’s oatmeal chocolate chip cookies are perfect! They are chewy and soft, the chocolate is gooey, and it literally melts in your mouth. After taking my first bite, I knew this is what they must eat in Heaven.

img_4642

I love baking cookies. It’s something I like to do when I have free time or just need a break. Baking is like science: everything is measured out and if one ingredient is wrong, the whole thing is ruined. For some reason, I like the rush of making sure everything is perfect. And since I share my cookies with friends and family, I don’t want them thinking I’m a terrible baker, so there is pressure to get it right.

If you look at Pinterest, there are so many cookie recipes, especially oatmeal chocolate chip. However, none of the recipes seem to be right. So I took the general base of all the recipes and figured this one out. And the end result has me thinking I may be giving Potbelly a run for its money!

ingredients

Ingredients:
2 1/2 cups Quick oats
2 cups Flour
1 1/2 tsp Baking soda
1 tsp Salt
1 cup Butter
1 cup Brown sugar
1 cup White sugar
2 Eggs
2 cups Chocolate Chips

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. In a medium bowl, combine oats, flour, baking soda, and salt. Then, set aside.
3. In a separate large bowl, mix together butter, brown sugar, and white sugar until creamy. Add in one egg at a time, beating after every time you add one. Then, mix in the vanilla.
4. Slowly add the dry mixture to the wet mixture in the large bowl. Then, mix in chocolate chips.
5. Scoop dough onto cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.
6. Bake for 13 minutes.

I hope you enjoy your delicious treat!

oatmeal-chocolate-chip-cookies

Leave a Reply

