Living Room Picnic

One of the things on my fall to-do list is to have a living room picnic with homemade chili.

Chili is one of my favorite meals to have on a cool fall night.I usually make chili in the crock pot and let it simmer all day (recipe post to come soon). When done this way, my apartment smells so delicious the entire day. However, on this night, my boyfriend decided to make his chili for me.He had yet to make me chili so this was a treat!

While Bret cooked the chili, I set up the picnic in the living room. We have a rather small apartment. We do have a dining room but the table is always covered with school stuff because it doubles as my desk. So instead of eating at the dining room table, I set up the picnic on the coffee table.

img_4662

We rarely get to enjoy dinner together because Bret currently works 2:30 pm to 11:00 pm. Ugh. So we cherish the nights when we actually get to enjoy dinner together. I also like it because we make something homemade, rather than opening a can of soup (my go-to).

I wanted the picnic to be festive so I covered the coffee table with some fall patterned fabric. I love grabbing fabric from Hobby Lobby or Jo-Ann’s Fabrics and making them into table runners for the dining room table or table cloths for the coffee table.

Once Bret was done cooking, we sat on the floor eating the chili and drinking wine. It was a nice change of pace since we usually eat in front of the TV.

img_4715

Below is my to-do list tally…I still have a long way to go. But! I’m going to a pumpkin patch this weekend and will be making cookies this week too!

My Fall To-Do List:
Make s’mores over an open fire
Go to a pumpkin patch
Make pumpkin chocolate chip cookies
Wear every blanket scarf in my closet
Play in a pile of leaves
Carve a pumpkin
Go for a night stroll
Visit the farmers market
Go apple picking
Make chili and have a living room picnic
Go through a corn maze
Have a Halloween movie marathon (minimum of 3 movies)
Go on a hike

Leave a Reply

