All Things Pumpkin

If you’ve read any of my past posts, seen my Instagram, or follow me on Snapchat, you may have noticed I am a little pumpkin obsessed.

Now, when I say pumpkin obsessed, I don’t mean pumpkin spice lattes, pumpkin spice cereal, and pumpkin spice Oreos (although my best friend did say those are actually tasty). What I mean is I am obsessed with pumpkin baked goods!

This month, I have already baked pumpkin oatmeal chocolate chip cookies, pumpkin chocolate chip cookies, and now (drum roll please) pumpkin muffins!

img_4957

Last year was the first time I ever had a pumpkin muffin. My friends and I were having our dinner break and we decided to go to Souplantation. Souplantation is a soup and salad buffet, and it’s actually delicious. Each month they feature a different ingredient depending on the season. October/November is usually pumpkin.

Last year, Souplantation had pumpkin muffins and maple butter. My friends, that combination sent my taste buds to Heaven. I’m pretty sure I even did a little dance in my seat while I ate them (I usually do that when I like what I’m eating).

Luckily for me, my mom and I went to Souplantation a couple weeks ago. Lo and behold, they brought back the muffins and butter. Praise Jesus, God is good!

That’s when it hit me that I could probably bake them! And, to Pinterest I go!! I was a little nervous looking at all the recipes because they all called for coconut oil. Now, I don’t know about you, but I am a traditional baker, none of that modern and healthy coconut oil stuff. However, I then found out that coconut oil makes muffins a little more soft and melty (that’s not a word but that’s the only adjective that is coming to mind).

img_4926

I decided to go for it and try out one of the recipes.

I was pleasantly surprised to find that the process was so smooth and the muffins taste just like Souplantations! (Now I just need the maple butter)

Ingredients
1 3/4 cups all purpose flour
1 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
2 eggs
1 15 oz can of pumpkin puree*
1/2 cup coconut oil, melted
1 teaspoon vanilla extra
*I used a large 29 oz can of pumpkin puree, so instead I added 1 3/4 cups to my mixture because I didn’t have a way of measuring out 15 oz.

img_4933

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
2. In a medium bowl, mix flour, both sugars, baking soda, salt, and spices.
3. In a large bowl, whisk together the eggs, pumpkin puree, coconut oil, and vanilla extract. (I actually used a whisk instead of my hand beater, you could probably use either but a whisk did the job just fine!)
4. Mix in dry ingredients to the large bowl with the wet ingredients.
5. Scoop muffins into muffin tin lined with muffin cups. I use an ice cream scoop to do the job (I use this for cookies and cupcakes too).

Remember to fill the batter to just below the top of the muffin cup (cupcakes is where you want only half the cup to be filled). The reason for this is to achieve the dome. On muffins, you want the dome/muffin top. Whereas on cupcakes, you want a flat top because you are presumably putting icing on top. The more batter you put in, the more it will rise.

I did try a little something different by adding pecans to four muffins. I love pecans in baked goods. I think it adds a something-something to it.

img_4938

After I had mixed the batter, I scooped three servings into a separate bowl and added pecans. I mixed in the pecans and then scooped the servings into different muffin cups. I used orange for regular pumpkin and black and white for the ones with pecans so I could easily tell which one was which.

This recipe was found on Pinterest HERE.

Have fun trying this recipe, I know I did!

img_4953

2 thoughts on “All Things Pumpkin

Leave a Reply

