Mary’s Christmas Playlist

In the midst of all the negativity surrounding the election and my Facebook feed, my hope is that this post brings you a little joy.

It’s November! This means we are even closer to it being Christmas and I’m allowed to play Christmas music in my apartment when Bret is home! (Even though I started playing it when he wasn’t home in mid-October).

As I mentioned before, the time period between October to December is my favorite time of year. I think it’s partly because the music is the BEST!

However, Christmas music has meant a lot more to me lately than it has in years past. Every day I log onto my computer and see the latest news surrounding the protests. As I stated in my previous post, this saddens me. Therefore, I have relied on Christmas music to cheer me up. All day, every day.

I am serious when I say I listen to Christmas music all the time. I listen in the car, at work, when studying, while cleaning, and when I’m just trying to relax. I can do this because I have several different Pandora stations that help put me in the Christmas mood.

Need to study? Listen to instrumental Christmas music. Need to clean? Listen to classic Christmas music. Need to relax? Listen to Christmas music centered around Jesus.

christmas-tree-edited

So without further ado….

Here are my top ten favorite songs for the Christmas season that I constantly have on repeat:

10. “A Soldier’s Silent Night” by Mannheim Steamroller & Father Ted Berndt
The first time I heard this on the radio, my Mom and I fell silent and were crying by the end of it. A beautiful poem by Lance Corporal James Schmidt depicts Santa finding a solider sleeping in an apartment with nothing, not even a bed. I can’t begin to describe how much I love this poem and song.

9. “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” by Frank Sinatra
Oh, Frank. Who doesn’t love Frank Sinatra?! His voice just fits this song so wonderfully; it’s a Christmas classic. This song always makes me want to grab a mug of peppermint hot chocolate, curl up on the couch with the Christmas tree lit, and read a book. When this song is on, I know it’s Christmas!

8. “The Christmas Canon” by the Trans-Siberian Orchestra
I love instrumental musical, especially Trans-Siberian Orchestra and Mannheim Steamroller. But this version of Pachelbel’s Canon in D is just beautiful and has me doing my best impersonation of a conductor.

7. “All I Want for Christmas Is You” by Michael Buble
I love Mariah’s version but there is something so pure and real about Michael’s version. This is one song I always love singing along to when it comes on my Pandora station. When I hear Mariah’s version, I think of the movie Love Actually and it makes me want to dance around the room. But hearing Michael’s version make me feel the realness of what someone with a broken heart is feeling around the holidays.

6.Β “I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day” by Casting Crowns
I never really cared for this song until I heard Casting Crowns version. The piano in the beginning and background choir really elevate it to a beautiful rendition. I also just love Mark Hall’s voice. Casting Crowns’ entire Christmas album, Peace on Earth, is a season favorite and constantly on repeat.

5. “I’ll Be Home for Christmas” by Josh Groban
I love every rendition of this song but especially Josh’s rendition. I love when Josh Groban sings anything because his voice is perfect. But this song has always had a special place in my heart. When I was in high school, I sang this song as a solo in a Christmas musical. Then, in my first year of college, I sent my mom a video of snowing falling while I sang this. I could not wait to be home for Christmas that year. This song always reminds me that no matter where I am or what stage of life I am in, I will always be home for Christmas.

4. “White Christmas” by Bing Crosby
Ah, the quintessential Christmas song! I grew up watching White Christmas and it will always be my favorite Christmas movie. I just love the ending when Bing, Rosemary, Danny, and Vera-Ellen come out in Santa suits and dresses singing this song. This song always puts me in a joyous mood.

3. “Joseph’s Lullaby” by MercyMe
Most Christmas songs are about Jesus or Mary, but rarely do you find one about Joseph. Growing up, I never really thought about Joseph or his role in Jesus’ life. But when I heard this song my first year of college, it made me look at Joseph in a different light. This song is beautiful and is a reminder of the impact Jesus had on Joseph, not just Mary.

2. “Breath of Heaven (Mary’s Song)” by Amy Grant
I cannot imagine how scared Mary must have been when she was told she would give birth to Jesus. I love this song because it’s not a traditional Christmas song. It really makes you think about Mary as a scared young woman who is pleading for the Lord to help her, to guide her, and give her strength. It’s a song I can definitely relate to, as I constantly find myself praying for similar things.

1. “O Holy Night” by Celine Dion
This song is by far my favorite no matter who sings it. However, Celine sings it with a certain je ne sais quoi. Her rendition is beautiful and has, on occasion, caused dust to find its way into my eyes…


As an added bonus, here are my three favorite Pandora Christmas stations to listen to:

Christmas Radio
This station is full of the classic Christmas songs sung by the original artists to more contemporary artists.
Good for cleaning because most of the songs are upbeat and easy to sing along to!

MercyMe (Holiday) Radio
I love this station because it’s more centered on songs about Christ and Mary, usually sung by Christian artists and bands.
Good for relaxing and remembering why Jesus is the reason for the season!

Trans-Siberian Orchestra (Holiday) Radio
This station is primarily instrumental holiday music. I love to play this station when I’m cleaning because the music is more upbeat and fast paced.
Good for studying or quiet time! (Also can be good for cleaning because there are some upbeat instrumental songs)


Hopefully you like my top ten and if you haven’t heard a song or two, give them a listen!

Let me know what your favorite Christmas songs are in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

