25.

Hello 25!

Yesterday I wrote about how this past year had significantly changed my life and what I hope God has in store for me for 25. Today I’d figure I’d tell you 25 things about myself, because let’s be real, I can’t do two emotional posts in a row (I think my mom would cry too much, haha).

1. I’m obsessed with all things Disney!
I’ve had a Disneyland pass since I was in middle school and it’s my favorite place to go, plus who doesn’t love Disney movies?!

2. My first (and only) car is a 1965 VW Bug.
My dad had a 1969 Bug since before my parents got married. Then his brother gave him my 1965 Bug before he passed away and my dad fixed it up. He taught me how to drive it and it’s been Blue & I ever since!

3. I have four tattoos.
My first are Roman numerals of the day my grandfather died. My second is my nieces signature from when she would write me letters while I was in college. My third is a matching tattoo with my best friend and it’s a Doctor Who quote. My fourth is a cross. My next one will most likely be for my dad.

4. Bret and I met in middle school.
My mom was his teacher for most of elementary and all of middle school, so I have known Bret’s whole family for a long time. I still remember that awkward day when our moms forced us to meet…so awkward. But, we had crushes on each other back then and they never really went away.

5. I love Pepsi and hate Coke.
The only person in my family who prefers Coke over Pepsi is my brother…
I suspect he was adopted…

6. I’m slightly addicted to Hot Cheetos.
And by slightly, I mean love them a lot.

7. Tulips are my favorite flower.
My dream is to go to a tulip festival somewhere in the world or U.S. because they literally bring a smile to my face.

8. I love going to open houses.
My dad and I used to spend our Sundays going to church, getting breakfast, then driving around San Diego County looking at houses. It’s easily one of my favorite things to do.

9. I will drive any distance for a good donut.
Bring on the devils food! If you live in SD or are visiting, go to VG’s in Cardiff-by-the-Sea. There, you have the best donut ever.

10. I get anxious when I don’t have control over a situation.
This drives Bret nuts but I’m a control freak. But it keeps our house running smoothly so is it really a bad thing?!

11. I hate tomatoes and Italian food but love salsa.
Anyone who has eaten a meal with me knows I despise pizza (despite it being one of my biggest pregnancy cravings) because I hate the red tomato sauce. But salsa, especially spicy salsa, is my all time favorite. My favorite is from Tony’s Jacal in Solana Beach (again, if you’re in SD, go!)

12. I have saved every card given to me since I was ten years old.
I have a box full of birthday, Christmas, graduation, theater, and random occasion cards. I love looking back and reading the things my family and friends had to say.

13. Survivor is my favorite reality show.
I remember my family was on a road trip for a family reunion and we watched an episode of the first season in Minnesota at my aunt’s lake cabin. After that, we were hooked. Everyone in my family watches it and we even talk about strategy and what a player’s best options are, haha.

14. I have never broken a bone.
I’m too cautious too even come close to breaking something.

15. I’m scared I’m going to mess up being a mom.
I’m sure every new mom has these fears but I feel like I’m going to mess up everything, haha. Because, let’s be real, your firstborn is the first thing you actually have to take care of. It’s not a house plant you can occasionally water that will eventually die. So I feel like I’m going to make so many mistakes and scar her for life if I don’t get her the right Christmas dress or use the right diaper. Ugh, she’s not even born yet and being a mom is already difficult.

16. I collect decks of playing cards.
I have so many from road trips, friends and family bringing me back cards from their trips, and super random ones. I’ve thought about getting rid of them but they’re all so unique and have a story that it’s hard to do.

17. I am a sexual assault survivor.
Read about my story HERE.

18. My parents are my role models.
My mom is the kindest, most understanding, God-loving person I know. I pray that I can be a great mom like her one day. My dad was the wisest, most talkative and passionate person. He was a force in his professional field and I aspire to be like him when I enter the legal field.

19. My past career goals were teacher, chef, and grocery bagger.
My mom and her family are all teachers so I figured I would’ve followed in her footsteps (but I’m not patient enough. My mom is a saint). I love cooking and baking but realized I just wasn’t passionate enough to be a chef. And, let’s be real, if grocery bagger was a career, I’d do it. I have a system and don’t like it when others bag my stuff when I shop.

20. Makeup is a slight obsession of mine.
I love being creative with eye shadows and trying new products! And I’m always on YouTube watching tutorials or reviews on new products.

21. I tell way too many stories.
I’m slowly starting to realize I’m becoming my dad….

22. I love baking and decorating cupcakes but hate eating them.
I don’t know why, but unless they’re German chocolate cupcakes, I’ll pass.

23. I’m terrified I won’t pass the bar exam.
Lord, help me!

24. I’ve only gone to one church my whole life.
My family has gone to our church since I was born and I absolutely love it. After my parents got divorced, it became my dads and my thing to go to the Early Bird service every Sunday (aka 7:30 am, ugh). But since he died, I basically refuse to go to that service because I have yet to make it through a service without crying. So now, if I go, I go to a different service. It’s a mega church so there are lots of options!

25. I would love to move away from California but I would miss my family too much.
I spend so much time with my family and I never get tired of it. I love just chilling in front of the tv with my mom, shopping with my sister and niece, and eating lunch at the place my brother works while he’s working. I love that my mom and grandpa live on the same street because my grandpa is one of the coolest guys you will ever meet and I love visiting him and hearing his stories. California is so expensive that it would make so much more sense to move anywhere else. But I would kick and scream if I had to actually leave my family (especially my mom). I love them too much!


I hope you enjoyed finding out a little bit more about me!

Now back to studying. I’ll see y’all again after the bar exam!

Leave a Reply

